Filling the void…

A new name, an new look and a slew of half written pieces that I hope to share soon. Excuses aside, I am very bothered by the fact that while my reading has persisted all summer long, I have virtually disappeared from the world of writing. Not good for me, not good for my career, and not good for anyone interested in what I have to say. I am sorry.

I will keep this brief, as  I have so many things to catch up on and I can’t wait to share them with you. One of things I will be starting with is the decline and demise of Borders (and the Big Box Bookstore as we know it.)

I was on a Facebook page for Borders employees today and I stumbled upon a posting from a fellow employee from San Diego that linked to the most interesting look at the economy and the survival of literacy amongst the “poor” of our nation.

Please read over the following article and feel free to share your thoughts on the sentiments expressed both here and on Facebook.

Across the Digital Divide–lets talk about poverty. by Seanan McGuire

Thanks for reading and sticking by through the lack of writing. It’s good to be back.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica Wehrheim
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 21:50:49

    enlightening. I have been in that place… though not as bad as many including the author of the article. Running in your nightgown to stand on the heat register in the floor to get the morning warmth. Having a dinner of fried baloney and eggs. In my opinion, everyone should experience poverty in order to truly appreciate not even wealth but “surplus”. As my mother said (paraphrased)…if you can be happy then (during the depresssion), nothing else really seems so bad.

    Reply

  2. Ellē
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 01:00:09

    I couldn’t agree more. You know, my husband and I spent the 2nd and 3rd winters in our house living at 50-55 degrees while we experimented with alternative heat because our budgeted gas was almost as much as our mortgage. You couldn’t go anywhere in the house without layers of clothing and blankets and even then we were still cold. We weren’t in poverty, but it was a sacrifice we had to make. Now we have worked out the issue, and every time I am cold and I wiggle my toes under his legs when we sit on the couch I think about the fact that I have been colder, and things have been worse and I know that I only truly appreciate it because for two winters I was truly cold.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

